The castle in Uniejów is considered to be one of the most interesting and most valuable historical, architectural and scenic monuments of the Lodz Region. It was built in the years 1360–1365 on the site of an old wooden fortress, destroyed during the Teutonic invasion of the city in 1331. The initiator of the construction was the Archbishop of Gniezno, Jarosław Bogoria Skotnicki, one of the closest associates of King Casimir the Great. In the years 1956-1967, the castle was renovated, and then converted into an archive, and later into a hotel and restaurant complex. At its foot there is a thermal and swimming pool complex. In the castle itself, tourists can visit a fragment of the former stronghold. A small free museum has also been created here. The exhibition consists of various items related to the history of the castle, both original and made by reenactors using original techniques. It occupies two rooms, and its perfect complement is the person of the guide Andrzej Pietrzak - "Sanderus", the tower master of the castle. Additionally, the visitors can use the massive, gothic castle tower for a fee. From it they can admire a beautiful view of the city and the Warta River.