8 Kolobrzeska, Bydgoszcz, Poland
It is the highest international form of distinction of a tourist attraction to be enlisted at UNESCO World Heritage List. World heritage sites are designated by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization for having cultural, historical, natural, scientific or similar significance. All of them pose “outstanding value to humanity".

At the moment (June 2020) there are 1 121 World Heritage Sites in the world. Sixteen of them can be found also in Poland. We are also proud to say that two Polish attractions were enlisted at the first UNESCO World Heritage List created in 1978. Three of the attractions Poland shares with neighbouring countries and they include Belovezhskaya Pushcha / Białowieża Forest, Wooden Tserkvas of Carpathian Region in Poland and Ukraine, and Muskauer Park / Park Mużakowski (Belarus, Ukraine and Germany respectively).  

There are 15 cultural sites and 1 natural site enlisted at UNESCO World Heritage List in Poland:

Historical cities:

1.      Historic Centre of Cracow

2.      Historic Centre of Warsaw

3.      Medieval Town of Toruń

4.      Old City of Zamość

Religious sites:

1.      Churches of Peace in Jawor and Świdnica

2.      Wooden Tserkvas of the Carpathian region in Poland and Ukraine

3.      Wooden Churches of Southern Małopolska

4.      Kalwaria Zebrzydowska – the Mannerist Architectural and Park Landscape Complex and Pilgrimage Park


1.      Krzemionki Prehistoric Striped flint Mining Region

2.      Tarnowskie Góry Lead-Silver-Zinc Mine and its Underground Water Management System

3.      Wieliczka and Bochnia Royal Salt Mines


4.      Castle of Teutonic Order Malbork

5.      Centennial Hall in Wrocław

6.      Park Mużakowski/Muskauer Park

Commemorating the world’s history:

1.      Auschwitz-Birkenau – Nazi German Concentration and Extermination Camp (1940-1945)


1.      Białowieża Forest

Poland hasn’t said the last word yet when it comes to Polish legacy. There are still 6 new sites that are on the awaiting list and they include:

1.      Gdańsk Town of Memory and Freedom

2.      The Augustów Canal (Kanał Augustowski)

3.      The Dunajec River Gorge in the Pieniny Mountains

4.      Ancient and Primeval Beech Forests of the Carpathians and Other regions of Europe – extension

5.      Modern Centre of Gdynia

6.      Paper Mill in Duszniki Zdrój


UNESCO at its own web page states that “Heritage is our legacy from the past, what we live with today, and what we pass on to future generations. Our cultural and natural heritage are both irreplaceable sources of life and inspiration.” This statement clearly explains why tourists should visit attractions pointed out by the organization and as enlisting a tourist attraction at UNESCO World Heritage List is a form of the highest international esteem we greatly recommend visiting these diverse sites across Poland. Check also our dedicated UNESCO tours and descriptions of all the particular UNESCO attractions at ITS Poland DMC site. 


Author: Agnieszka Szwedzińska

Date: 29.09.2020